top of page

Implicit Bias

This week, I learned about how human nature can push us to unconsciously choose to be around people that have things in common with us. As soon as I read the chapter on implicit bias, I began to think about situations in which I showed bias for my preference. In doing this, I was faced with the reality that I have indeed made biased choices, albeit not all bad choices.

The chapter on bias described how the small biased choices each individual makes sum up to a segregated world, a world where people of common interests are lumped together in a bid to achieve joy and comfort. However, the chapter argues that we are all better off, and everyone will be happier, if we all make conscious efforts to mingle with people who are not necessary like us. People of all kinds coming together will cause problems to be approached from different points of need, and different cultural standpoints, leading to solutions that actually better the whole world, and not a specific set of people.

My work in GCSP involves healthcare and alternative energy. My investment in healthcare work could create a bias in terms of accepting or rejecting experimental results. For example, if I set out to prove that an automated device is better at making insulin delivery decisions than the patient, I could unconsciously lean towards accepting any slight positive result as proof, even if it actually is not enough proof.

Follow-up thought: If there is no data available on the subject of one's research, is it bias to be absolutely positive about the research even when the data does not look good... at least not yet?

bottom of page